The Kemmerer Gazette Online
708 JC Penney Dr., Kemmerer, WY 83101 • Ph: 307-877-3347 • Fax: 307-877-3736
Current E-Edition

News Sports Obits Opinions Cokeville LaBarge Community Classifieds Photos Home 

Wyo. Jr. Duck Stamp winners announced

Posted: Friday, Apr 12th, 2013

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service has announced the winners of the 2013 Wyoming Junior Duck Stamp Program, for which more than 540 entries were received.

Best of Show honors went to Bailey Schupp, age 12, of Pinedale. Her artwork, an oil painting of a male bufflehead, will advance to the 2013 National Federal Junior Duck Stamp Contest to be held Friday, April 19, at the National Conservation Training Center in Shepardstown, W.Va.

Of the 100 winners, 29 were from Cokeville.

The national contest will be streaming live online beginning at 10 a.m. Eastern time at The first place art from the national contest is used to create a National Junior Duck Stamp each year, available for $5 from the U.S. Postal Service, Amplex Corporation and from many National Wildlife Refuges. Proceeds from the sale the stamps support conservation education and provide awards and scholarships for participating students, teachers and schools.

“The enthusiasm demonstrated by both the students and the art educators was incredible. I would like to thank all of them for the work they put in to produce the excellent artwork submitted to the Junior Duck Stamp program for Wyoming,” said Wyoming Junior Duck Stamp coordinator Tom Koerner.

The contest was judged in four age groups. Group I included kindergarten through third grade students; Group II was limited to students in fourth through sixth grade; Group III consisted seventh through nine grade students; and 10th grade through 12th grade students made up Group IV.

Students also include a “conservation message” on their art that demonstrated what they had learned through the program. Katherine Kernan of Wheatland, Wyo., submitted the winning conservation message, “Be aware, preserve and protect, because before long the habitat will be gone.”

Contest judges were Florence McEwin and Will Clark from Western Wyoming Community College, Anna Senecal and Kevin Spence from the Wyoming Game and Fish Department, and Natalie Fath from the National Elk Refuge.

This dynamic educational program uses both conservation and design principles to teach wetland habitat and waterfowl biology to students in kindergarten through high school. The program provides an opportunity for students to artistically express their knowledge of the diversity, interdependence and beauty of wildlife. Educational guides for youth, educators, and home school are available through the Junior Duck Stamp Program. Please contact Tom Koerner at (307) 875-2187, ext. 16, or at for copies.

The following is a list of first place, second place, third place and honorable mention winners in each group for the Wyoming Junior Duck Stamp Program artwork.


Group I

Grades 3 through 6

First Place

Sydney Nate, Cokeville; Betty Nelson Artistic Promise Award

Kendyl Gersten, Kelly

Taylor Glick, Wilson

Second Place

Morgan Cowan, Alta

Chip Dayton, Alta

Michael Cowan, Alta

Third Place

Cecilia Dolman, Alta

Alita Schultz, Alta

Griffen Anderson, Kelly

Honorable Mention

Eloise Hebert, Alta

Milo Goodell, Alta

Logan Jewell, Alta

Gus Prissel, Alta

Chloe Work, Alta

Blair Brengle, Kelly

Murie Judd, Kelly

Carol Ann Beastrom, Wilson

Cecily Ross, Wilson

Anna Gregg, Wilson

Bach Ryan, Wilson

Sam Scott, Wilson

Matty Carney, Wilson

Wyley Menolascino, Wilson

Lilly Eggett, Wilson

Hunter Thomas, Cokeville


Group II

Grades 4 through 6

First Place

Haley Janus, Alta

Elsa Knoke, Wilson

Caroline Monroe, Alta

Second Place

Damian Nate, Cokeville

Kendra Cook, Cokeville

Kaylee Cornia, Cokeville

Third Place

Charlotte Kline, Wilson

Amelia Wilson, Alta

Maya Wheeler, Kelly

Honorable Mention

Maelyn Dolman, Alta

Janae Teichert, Cokeville

Jordyn Nate, Cokeville

Wes Teichert, Cokeville

Leona Teichert, Cokeville

Sheldon Weston, Cokeville

Alisen Petersen, Cokeville

Whytney Murdock, Cokeville

Zach Johnson, Kelly

Holland Gaston, Kelly

Olivia Trefether, Laramie

Christian Link, Laramie

MaryGrace Beastrom, Wilson

Lucy Kimmel, Wilson

Gray Forsyth, Wilson

Eliot Hutchinson, Wilson


Group III

Grades 7 through 9

First Place

Jackson Linford, Cokeville

Hanna Helm, Cokeville

Bailey Schupp, Pinedale

Second Place

Savannah Phillips, Cokeville

Alexandrea Foster, Powell

Maggie Arross, Powell

Third Place

Jessica Gonzalez, Cokeville

Tristan Nate, Cokeville

Rachel McCain, Powell

Honorable Mention

Trenton King Cokeville

Shyanna Mckinnan, Cokeville

Yolanda Oussanov, Cokeville

Quinton Eversull, Cokeville

S. Alley McKinnon, Cokeville

Cheyenne Reed, Cokeville

Ty Praws, Cokeville

Kate Fiscus, Cokeville

Burgandy Huntington, Cokeville

Lizzy Hollibaugh, Cokeville

Jessie Weiss, Lander

Ayla Gallegos, Powell

Kianna Flores, Powell

Marivel Salazar, Powell

Sara McCullough, Powell

Syler Peralta-Ramos, Wilson


Group IV

Grades 10 through 12

First Place

Devan La Mere, Pinedale

Sierra Morrow, Powell

Hannah Cordes, Powell

Second Place

Alexandria Flom, Powell

Corianne McKearney, Powell

Cassidi Partridge, Powell

Third Place

Gretchen Groves, Powell

Brooke Thomas, Powell

Haley Wichman, Powell

Honorable Mention

Colter Viehweg, Cokeville

Marissa Pope, Cokeville

Stephanie Liggett, Powell

Victori Sleep, Powell

Amber Munjar, Powell

Brooke Nisley, Powell

Gabriela Rodriguez, Powell

Pedro Vosquez, Powell

Ismael Domiguez, Powell

Zachariah Kienlen, Powell

Cydney Page Barrus, Powell

Trevor Hardisty, Powell

Hunter Werbelow, Powell

Brainne Siebert, Powell

Reba Lawrence, Powell

Max Norberg, Powell

Students submitted artwork featuring the following native North American species: whistling ducks, swans, geese, dabbling ducks, diving ducks, sea ducks, mergansers, stiff tails, or Hawaiian ducks. A full list of permitted species is available online at Artwork entries were judged on the basis of original design, anatomical accuracy, artistic composition and suitability for reproduction on a 1” by 1.5” stamp. For more information on contest rules and educational materials for teachers and supervising adults visit

Copies of the winning artwork will be exhibited around the state. The tour will start at Seedskadee National Wildlife Refuge in southwestern Wyoming and move to Jackson, Rock Springs, Powell, Casper and Cheyenne. The Wyoming Junior Duck Stamp Program is sponsored by the Federal Junior Duck Stamp Program, Seedskadee National Wildlife Refuge and Ducks Unlimited.

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal